25 Followers
26 Following
KateBond

Kate Bond

Currently reading

Killbox
Ann Aguirre
The Reapers Are the Angels
Alden Bell
Inside Scientology: The Story of America's Most Secretive Religion
Janet Reitman
Stormdancer
Jay Kristoff
Elusion
Claudia Gabel, Cheryl Klam
The Age of Miracles
Karen Thompson Walker
The Long Earth
Stephen Baxter, Terry Pratchett
Game
Barry Lyga
Crown of Midnight
Sarah J. Maas
The Bitter Kingdom
Rae Carson

Pushing the Limits

Pushing the Limits - So there are a lot of things that I really liked about this book. I thought it did a pretty good job of showing the good and bad of our country's foster care system. I liked that the love story never veered into that dumb Westside Story neighborhood of him being from the wrong side of the tracks blah blah blah...because he was only in that position because his parents died while he was in high school, forcing him from middle-class suburbia into foster care hell. It's a different take on the usual classist bullshit, and that was nice. The character voices worked for me, although I'm reeeeeeally tired of the whole two-person first-person alternating by chapter thing. In general (although it's less of a problem in this particular instance), the male voice tends to read a little false when written this way. I will say this, though: It is VASTLY preferable to when an author writes the entire novel from one character's perspective and then gives us a snippet at the end of a few scenes re-told from the love interest's perspective (as in the Lux novels and Fifty Shades of Grey). I fucking hate that shit.This is a sweet, wrenching love story in the vein of Gayle Forman's If I Stay and Where She Went. Just try not to think too hard about the logic of anything anyone does. Like, why didn't Noah's parents have a life insurance policy or ANY kind of plan in place to protect their children? And why did anything that any adult did relating to Echo make absolutely no sense what-so-ever? And since when is smoking pot such a big deal?But like I said, it makes you feel things, and the dude is super-dreamy, and if you're in the market for a new YA novel without supernatural elements, you could do a lot worse than this little romance.